Another Campaign Post

Discussion for Admins of ETPro/BayonET servers.
If you don't run a server, please don't post here...

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

Post Reply
H8reD
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:55 am

Another Campaign Post

Post by H8reD »

I am having a problem getting my campaigns to run, even after reading through all of this documentation. Just to combine all that I’ve read into one post and give examples of what I’ve done, maybe someone can point out where I’ve flawed.

My working directories are

/.etwolf/etpro/
/.etwolf/etpro/configs/
/etmain/
/etmain/scripts/

All of my custom map pk3 files are located in /etmain/.

I have my hkfclan.cfg file located in /etmain/ and it looks like
set d1 "campaign cmpgn_hkfclan1 ; set nextcampaign vstr d2"
set d2 "campaign cmpgn_hkfclan2 ; set nextcampaign vstr d1"
set d_initial "set g_gametype 4 ; map temple_final ; set nextcampaign vstr d1"
vstr d_initial
My campaign file is in /etmain/scripts/ as I don’t want my clients to have to download my campaign file. Based on what I’ve read as long as I keep my .pk3 files in /etmain/ downloading my custom maps will only occur when that map is loaded. My campaign pk3 file is named hkfclan.pk3 and it’s contents are /scripts/hkfclan1.campaign and it looks like
{
name "HKF Clan Campaign One"
shortname "cmpgn_hkfclan1"
description "HKF Clan Campaign One**1. Temple*2. Oasis*3. StarGate 1945*4. Bergen*5. Password*6. Saber Peak*7. Monte Casino*8. NoTW*9. Carnage Canyon*10. Millenium Falcon"
maps "temple_final;oasis;Bunker_SG1945_2;bergen;password2;saberpeak_final;mcassino;notw;carnage2;falcon2"
mapTC 374 374
type "wolfmp"
}

{
name "HKF Clan Campaign Two"
shortname "cmpgn_hkfclan2"
description "HKF Clan Campaign Two**1. Resurrection*2. Assault*3. Venice*4. Streets of Mork and Mindy*5. Escape*6. Byzantine*7. Voilegarde*8. Raiders*9. Secret Bay*10. Fueldump"
maps "resurrection;et_assault_beta;venice;et_mor;escape2;byzantine;voilegarde_b3;raiders;etsbay;fueldump"
mapTC 374 374
type "wolfmp"
}
My public.config file is located in /.etwolf/etpro/configs/ and the relevant line reads
setl b_campaignFile “scripts/hkfclan1.campaign”


When I start my server I find a line in my etconsole.log file that says xxx map is not a valid campaign starting map, switching to stopwatch mode. I’ve changed xxx to just about every map I have on my server and I get the error with all of them. The only way I’ve gotten this to work is to embed my campaign file in a map.pk3 file, remove the b_campaignFile line from my .config file and load the server that way. This forces clients to download an altered custom map which is really not something I want to do.

Have I missed some glaringly obvious setting/step that is the crux of my problem?
PincheGab
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:26 pm

Re: Another Campaign Post

Post by PincheGab »

set d_initial "set g_gametype 4 ; map temple_final ; set nextcampaign vstr d1"
Doesn't temple_final have an embedded .campaign file? If so, you should not use it as your first map in the campaign. If I were you I'd download the mlb_beta_temple map... It's newer, better-looking, and does not have embedded .campaign files. If you do get it, don't forget to get the latest service pack too (I think it's currently SP2)
H8reD
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:55 am

Post by H8reD »

Yeah, I plan to use the new map they released, I was just using what I have for now to get it working then make my changes. I had already ripped the .campaign file imbedded out. For that matter just because I was so frustrated I removed EVERY .campaign file from every .pk3 file I have hehe. I probably should have mentioned that before.

UPDATE:
Sometimes writing it all out helps. So I went through my log file again and noticed that /.etwolf/etpro/scripts was not being referenced in the pk3 files loaded. I should have seen something along the lines of:

Current search path:
/.etwolf/etpro/hkfclan.pk3 (2 files)

and that didn't exist. I placed the hkfclan.pk3 file in the /.etwolf/etpro/ directory and changed my setl b_campaignFile “scripts/hkfclan1.campaign” to read simply setl b_campaignFile “hkfclan1.campaign” and now in my log file I DO see:

Current search path:
/.etwolf/etpro/hkfclan.pk3 (2 files)

Can anyone tell me why that would be?

Even with these changes when the first map cycles I still get the error message:
Map 'xxx' isn't a valid campaign starting map. Switching to stopwatch mode.
PincheGab
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:26 pm

Post by PincheGab »

My campaign file is in /etmain/scripts/ as I don’t want my clients to have to download my campaign file
Hmmm... Never heard of this, have you tried just placing it in /etmain or /etpro?

EDIT: Or if placing the PK3 in /etmain/scripts is valid/legal, then don't embed the .campaign file in /scrips/ again, put it at the root of the archive. Otherwise the decompressed file resides in /etmain/scripts/scripts and ET will not be able to find it.
CrazyGuy
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2002 12:32 am

Post by CrazyGuy »

I thought password2 you had to name it.
passwordv12
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

try this:

Code: Select all

set d1 "campaign cmpgn_hkfclan1 ; set nextcampaign vstr d2" 
set d2 "campaign cmpgn_hkfclan2 ; set nextcampaign vstr d1" 
set d_initial "set g_gametype 4; map resurrection; set nextcampaign vstr d1" 
vstr d_initial
if you encounter problems you should start with a single map in each campaign. do it 6 times a cmpgn, then go on and on replacing with other maps.

check out the absolute correct spelling of the maps.
xGrunt
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:32 pm

Re: Another Campaign Post

Post by xGrunt »

H8reD wrote:My campaign file is in /etmain/scripts/ as I don’t want my clients to have to download my campaign file.
They have to download the campaign file to be able to play the campaign. Put all your pk3 files in /etmain.
H8reD wrote:Based on what I’ve read as long as I keep my .pk3 files in /etmain/ downloading my custom maps will only occur when that map is loaded.

Use this line in your server.cfg to only download the campaign maps when that map is loaded:

Code: Select all

set b_campaignFile "scripts/hkfclan1.campaign
H8reD
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:55 am

Post by H8reD »

Fixed! Ok, my problem was the following.
/etmain/scripts/scripts
I removed the /scripts folder which was stupid on my part (should have put 2 and 2 together :oops: ) and simply created the pk3 campaign file with hkfclan.pk3 containing /scripts/hkfclan1.campaign.

I placed the campaign pk3 file in my etpro folder and all is well. I did notice that when the server first comes up it cycles the first campaign twice and then cycles to the second which is odd but honestly... I can deal with that.

I had read somewhere that you can only have 10 maps per campaign but can't find that post again. Does anyone know for certain if that is true or what the actual limit per campaign is? (outside the actual physical memory issue that is)

Thanks to all of you that replied! I greatly appreciate it.
I thought password2 you had to name it.
passwordv12
Maybe we have different versions? I think I have the latest/greatest which is password2_v12.pk3
xGrunt
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:32 pm

Post by xGrunt »

I've always heard that 10 maps are the limit in a single campaign becuase of a bug in the ET code, although I've never tested it.

Open the password pk3 file in winzip and look for the name of the .bsp file. It'll be xxxxxxx.bsp. Use that exact name without the '.bsp' as your map name in the campaign file.
H8reD
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:55 am

Post by H8reD »

Oh, right, I did that, I put the link there in case I had a newer version than you, you could d/l it. I always check the actual .bsp names when adding maps. I don't think half the maps I use would work if I hadn't learned that early on hehe.
Mark
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 6:10 am
Location: #vpclan@qnet

Post by Mark »

xGrunt wrote:I've always heard that 10 maps are the limit in a single campaign becuase of a bug in the ET code, although I've never tested it.

Open the password pk3 file in winzip and look for the name of the .bsp file. It'll be xxxxxxx.bsp. Use that exact name without the '.bsp' as your map name in the campaign file.
If you uploaded the maps to your server, you can also make:

Code: Select all

fdir *.bsp
with rcon to get of all installed maps.

greets
Mark
Get owned at: Gaming@d1p.de (217.172.182.126:27960)
Image
Hi! I'm a .signature *virus*! Copy me into your ~/.signature to help me spread!
Post Reply