Duel Pistols

Discussion for Bani's Tournament Mod

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

Post Reply
[DA]ZephyR
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 3:59 pm

Duel Pistols

Post by [DA]ZephyR »

I know this has been discussed several times, but the duel pistols really bothers me. I have found some class scripting binds confusing (so i'm starting to make my own), but the duel pistols is really bothering me. I use to like it when duel pistols was set automatically after the death after earning them, but now that's not automatic. So I have 2 questions....

1) Will they be automatic in a future release?
2) If not, how would i script them into a bind?
User avatar
gotenks
Posts: 3465
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:12 pm
Location: out of my mind
Contact:

Post by gotenks »

they were automatic on 2.0.5...
however if you change classes your client overrides
My Website
Image
After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:WTF wanst i on top ?
User avatar
Badhabit
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho

Post by Badhabit »

gotenks wrote:they were automatic on 2.0.5...
however if you change classes your client overrides
But after each new map you have to re-select them during warmup.
Same with mp40/tompson.
{Zer0}'s House of Torment 67.19.67.118:27960
{Zer0}'s RTCW server 67.19.67.119:27960
Now Lets Go Kick Some ASS
And thats an Order.
Image
User avatar
=FF=im2good4u
Posts: 3821
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 7:30 am
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND
Contact:

Post by =FF=im2good4u »

Badhabit wrote:
gotenks wrote:they were automatic on 2.0.5...
however if you change classes your client overrides
But after each new map you have to re-select them during warmup.
Same with mp40/tompson.
yep[ and scriping does not sepport pistol selection
User avatar
ReyalP
Posts: 1663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:44 am

Post by ReyalP »

=FF=im2weak4u wrote:
Badhabit wrote:
gotenks wrote:they were automatic on 2.0.5...
however if you change classes your client overrides
But after each new map you have to re-select them during warmup.
Same with mp40/tompson.
yep[ and scriping does not sepport pistol selection
You can with
/team
For example, axis medic with akimbo pistols (or just one if you don't have l4 yet)

Code: Select all

bind KP_END "team r 1 3 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Med^1)"
The only thing this doesn't work for is soldiers, because it of l4 light and heavy weapons. You can use another bind to switch between those.

Here's my whole axis config (allies is the same layout, just the numbers are different.):

Code: Select all

echo ^1Axis team^7
bind KP_END "team r 1 3 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Med^1)"
bind KP_DOWNARROW "team r 2 3 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Eng w/SMG^1)"
bind KP_PGDN "team r 3 3 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Fops^1)"
bind KP_UPARROW "team r 2 23 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Eng w/K43^1)"
bind KP_PGUP "team r 4 10 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Cov w/Sten^1)"
bind KP_SLASH "team r 4 33 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Cov w/FG42^1)"
bind * "team r 4 25 38; say_team ^1(^7Spawning Cov w/K43^1)"

// ak(imbo) and smg secondaries
set sold_ak_pf "team r 0 5 38; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/PanzerFaust^4)"
set sold_sm_pf "team r 0 5 3; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/PanzerFaust^4)"
set sold_ak_fl "team r 0 6 38; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/Flamer^4)"
set sold_sm_fl "team r 0 6 3; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/Flamer^4)"
set sold_ak_mg "team r 0 31 38; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/MG42^4)"
set sold_sm_mg "team r 0 31 3; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/MG42^4)"
set sold_ak_mo "team r 0 35 38; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/Mortar^4)"
set sold_sm_mo "team r 0 35 3; say_team ^4(^7Spawning Sold w/Mortar^4)"

set sold_set_ak "bind KP_LEFTARROW vstr sold_ak_pf ; bind KP_5 vstr sold_ak_fl ; bind KP_RIGHTARROW vstr sold_ak_mg ; bind KP_HOME vstr sold_ak_mo ; echo soldier uses akimbo ; set sold_tog vstr sold_set_sm"
set sold_set_sm "bind KP_LEFTARROW vstr sold_sm_pf ; bind KP_5 vstr sold_sm_fl ; bind KP_RIGHTARROW vstr sold_sm_mg ; bind KP_HOME vstr sold_sm_mo ; echo soldier uses SMG ; set sold_tog vstr sold_set_ak"
set sold_tog "vstr sold_set_ak"
bind KP_MINUS vstr sold_tog
vstr sold_set_ak
Beware of line wrap in the above. Each 'set' must be a single line.

My main config has keys bound to "exec axis.cfg" and "exec allies.cfg"

See ifuritas page for more details:
http://www.planetwolfenstein.com/4newbies/

FWIW, all the above works in etmain as well as ETPro.
send lawyers, guns and money
Eutha
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 11:31 pm

Post by Eutha »

Dual pistols is fixed in etpro 2.0.5 so they are automatically selected. But if you use class selecting script from the previous post it always fucks it up. You should use etpro class selecting script (works only in etpro servers but who plays in etmain) and dual pistols work fine with it and you dont have to exec new config depending if you are allied or axis. One example can be found http://arduis.enemy-territory.se/files/class.cfg
User avatar
ReyalP
Posts: 1663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:44 am

Post by ReyalP »

Eutha wrote:But if you use class selecting script from the previous post it always fucks it up.
Really ? could you elaborate on 'fucks it up' ?
send lawyers, guns and money
Majin
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 1:31 pm

Post by Majin »

Only bad thing about the /team scripts is you gotta remember which team you are on when playing stopwatch;)
Post Reply