ASE Filter editing

Discussion for Bani's Tournament Mod

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

Noobie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:26 am

ASE Filter editing

Post by Noobie »

I made a little addition to ASE: filtering ETPro versions. Here are the instructions:

1) Open up the all seeing eye installation folder (default: C:\Program Files\The All-Seeing Eye)
2) Copy the filters.txt file to a filters.bak file (as a backup) and open the filters.txt file with notepad
3) Look for a section called Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\Version\Other
4) Under the
Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\Version\Other
Group: ETVER
Mutex: ETVER
Flags: OTHER
part put the following:
Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\ETpro Version
Group: NUL

Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\ETpro Version\3.1.14
Group: ETVER
Mutex: ETVER
1 if mod_version != "3.1.14" remove

Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\ETpro Version\3.1.9
Group: ETVER
Mutex: ETVER
1 if mod_version != "3.1.9" remove

Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory\ETpro Version\3.1.0
Group: ETVER
Mutex: ETVER
1 if mod_version != "3.1.0" remove
5) Close and save filters.txt
6) Restart ASE
________
JUGALETTES
Last edited by Noobie on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
squadjot
Posts: 378
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 9:49 am
Location: Somewhere in Valby
Contact:

Post by squadjot »

n1
User avatar
Kendle
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 2:32 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Kendle »

You can do that by creating new filters using the appropriate menu options. Perhaps not as nice, but doesn't involve editing a file (which ASE may overwrite when it updates).

What would be really nice would be a way to include some of the b_ cvars in the serverinfo so filters for b_wolfrof etc. could be made (as has been suggested in another thread).
Noobie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:26 am

Post by Noobie »

Kendle wrote:You can do that by creating new filters using the appropriate menu options. Perhaps not as nice, but doesn't involve editing a file (which ASE may overwrite when it updates).

What would be really nice would be a way to include some of the b_ cvars in the serverinfo so filters for b_wolfrof etc. could be made (as has been suggested in another thread).
If bani makes a bitmask or something that is returned in the serverinfo with various info on b_cvars that can be done.
________
EXTREME Q VAPORIZER
Last edited by Noobie on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
wipeout
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:12 am

Post by wipeout »

Ahhhh!
You should've posted that earlier :P
Wanted to have smth like that and did it myself yesterday :\
User avatar
[MoB]Seany
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:57 am

Post by [MoB]Seany »

I got full version of ASE, but ever since "they" took it over, it hasn't been the same. Can't even search for players presently playing :?
[MoB]

NetNut: "I never cheat on a FPS game, but i will use my aimbot for Minesweeper or Solitare."
User avatar
=FF=im2good4u
Posts: 3821
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 7:30 am
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND
Contact:

Post by =FF=im2good4u »

i go the free ASE and it workes fine i only got a stoopid "they" icon
User avatar
Ragnar_40k
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:18 pm
Location: Berlin, birthplace of the Döner
Contact:

Post by Ragnar_40k »

[MoB]Seany wrote:Can't even search for players presently playing :?
Try splatterladder instead.
The Emperor watch over you.
User avatar
[MoB]Seany
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:57 am

Post by [MoB]Seany »

URL dosnt work, but yah...my only problem is the fact that i already paid for it and it dosn't work..not to mention I'm not sure what splatter ladder works on and how reliable/accurate it is :o
[MoB]

NetNut: "I never cheat on a FPS game, but i will use my aimbot for Minesweeper or Solitare."
DG
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 4:16 am

Post by DG »

[MoB]Seany the ASE chaps talk about that @
http://www.udpsoft.com/forum/topic.cgi? ... topic=2838


I've asked for a bitflag var holding hte important etpro settings before, would be worthwhile imo.

Here's another example of an ASE filter - just a normal one though (just right-click in space in the filter window and select 'new':

1 if ping > "60" remove
2 if protocol < "84" remove
3 if clients < "10" remove
4 if g_needpass == "1" remove
5 if gamename ~!= "*etpro*" remove
6 if g_balancedteams != "1" remove
7 if sv_punkbuster != "1" remove
8 if g_friendlyFire != "1" remove
9 if sv_maxRate < "13000" remove


nice tip on editing in the 'proper' filters bit though.
User avatar
Ragnar_40k
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:18 pm
Location: Berlin, birthplace of the Döner
Contact:

Post by Ragnar_40k »

[MoB]Seany wrote:URL dosnt work
Whats wrong with the URL? Works for me.
I guess this is you?
And this is your clan? (its already registered!)
The Emperor watch over you.
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

someone come up with a bitmask of flags you want to filter on.

that way when someone (and they will) whines about how it sucks, I don't have to take the blame for it. i can just direct all complaints at Kendle 8)
Noobie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:26 am

Post by Noobie »

bani wrote:someone come up with a bitmask of flags you want to filter on.

that way when someone (and they will) whines about how it sucks, I don't have to take the blame for it. i can just direct all complaints at Kendle 8)
Okay, let's do it!

We need info on the following cvars:
b_defaultskills
b_noskillupgrades
b_levels_battlesense
b_levels_covertops
b_levels_engineer
b_levels_fieldops
b_levels_lightweapons
b_levels_medic
b_levels_soldier
b_wolfrof
b_pronedelay
b_xpstopwatch
team_maxFlamers
team_maxMG42s
team_maxMines
team_maxMortars
team_maxPanzers

I recommend we do it in that order (I have not yet tought as to why to use this order). Now the problem is that some take variable input (like b_levels_* for instance); so I recommend we just negate what they are set to (filtering on that sux anyway) and just do a 0/1 if they are set or not.


I was told on IRC that there is no more room left in the output of the server (when queried) for much of anything (in case anyone is wondering why the b_* cvar's aren't just added).
________
Vapir Oxygen
Last edited by Noobie on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DG
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 4:16 am

Post by DG »

I dont think it's necessary to be able to filter everything exactly, nice maybe, but I think all that's needed is to be able to filter out setups which are well out of what's wanted.

It'd be useful if people posted what they're particularily interested in, and how exacting they'd like it.

For example, I'd particularily like to
- filter out wolfrof 1
- filter out realhead 0
- filter out servers with very high numbers/ratios of heavyweapons allowed.

Nice but not essential:
- gain some kind of impression (from glancing in serverinfo) as to wether skills upgrades are disabled or wether the skills system is tweaked.
- filter out, or know if b_fixedphysics 0

I think it'd be acceptable if taking full advantage of the filtering required a bit of work - or someone makes a webpage to create filters based on input.

I'll work on some possible examples, roughly how many serverinfo vars are going spare - allowing for the usual server added ones like sets .Admin "admin@email.com" etc?
Noobie
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:26 am

Post by Noobie »

DG wrote:I'll work on some possible examples, roughly how many serverinfo vars are going spare - allowing for the usual server added ones like sets .Admin "admin@email.com" etc?
Well that is the problem. I was told that there is no spare space left. Because the serverinfo also outputs a maximum of 64 player names, along with all the stuff already used, it's too much.
________
Website design
Last edited by Noobie on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply