How to use target_location in new levels

ET Pro Documentation Project

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers, ET Pro Documentation

Post Reply
User avatar
WeblionX
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 1:03 pm
Contact:

How to use target_location in new levels

Post by WeblionX »

Target_location for maps still in production
A "target_location" is a non-brush entity that allows a mapper to specify the name of a certain area to be displayed instead of map coordinates in both the fireteam box and the location displayed when you chat, unless it is set to use coordinates on the client side.

Note that using these will throw an error into the console for every one you have if use in etmain, or as of now, shrub and etpub. The map will still run, though. To use them, first make a file called "et_entities_location.def" in the scripts directory of your mapping install. Then, open the file in notepad and paste the following in the file, and then save.

Code: Select all

/*QUAKED target_location (0 0.5 0) (-8 -8 -8) (8 8 8)
Set "message" to the name of this location.

Closest target_location in sight used for the location, if none
in site, closest in distance, within PVS
*/
This will allow you to place a target_location into your map inside of GTK Radiant. It will appear as a small green box. When selected, give it a key called "message" with a value that is the name you want at that location. You only need to place target_locations so you can always see one, any more are a waste of resources.

Locations for already finished maps
Note: This method is less efficient engine-wise than using actual target_locations.
TO BE POSTED SOON
Last edited by WeblionX on Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Got any old idtech3 tutorials you made or saved? Send them my way.
User avatar
=FF=im2good4u
Posts: 3821
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 7:30 am
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND
Contact:

Post by =FF=im2good4u »

the 2nd way work for server and clients :D a server can hav a .loc file for a map whil clients can have thier own also if the server doesnt have any .loc file for that map it plays cliens can use thier on file :P
Post Reply