banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index banimod / etpro / ettv forums
Bani's Discussion Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ETTV Public beta 7
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deej



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 743
Location: Belgium!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bani wrote:
probably not. one way to find out Smile


And that's what I'm doing right now Smile. I'm running the following servers with ettv.x86 b7:

- 2 war servers with ETPro 3.2.0
- 1 SW server with ETPro 3.2.2 test 2
- 1 Campaign server with ETPro 3.2.1
- 2 ETPub 0.6.0 servers (yep Wink)

All have ettv_sv_iptos 16. Keep you posted on the results.
_________________
Our servers now run on 64 bit steroids. Point your ET to:
- Forgotten Ground StopWatch Server with occasional wolfrof 1
- Fraggle Rock ETPub Server - Mix up ET/UT & Duke Nukem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also: ettv_mtu must be set from commandline, it cannot (yet) be changed on the fly.

@-=[VP]+arni+=-:
i just tested, iptos 16 did work for me, packets were marked and routed cleanly across the USA, 2776 miles distance, and arrived at destination properly marked iptos 16. Very Happy

Code:
13:01:06.008169 IP (tos 0x10, ttl  53, id 14943, offset 0, flags [+], proto 17, length: 1500) 66.x.x.158.29002 > 65.y.y.48.27972: UDP, length 11761


whether it is priority routed depends on your ISP, but iptos does not seem to get removed by any network in the USA. (in fact if it did, it would break things like quicktime, skype, and realplayer which all use iptos).

also note the nice datagram length 11761 Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm then it must have changed some time ago or the scientific paper about the advantages of ipv4 that i read was wrong.

They stated that in ipv4 most routers disregard iptos and even remove it and that tos will thus first become a mandatory feature in ipv6

Nice that it gets routed, but i still doubt that routers will care


EDIT: does someone have an active (14+ players) ettv b7 server in the US i can quickly connect to? - if it works over the big pond without problems its likely that this lag problem is fixed

EDIT2: Can you make a reasonably big datagram size default value then? - because otherwise dumb (oh well less experienced) admins will forget and we have the same problem again
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-=[VP]+arni+=- wrote:
hmm then it must have changed some time ago or the scientific paper about the advantages of ipv4 that i read was wrong.

They stated that in ipv4 most routers disregard iptos and even remove it and that tos will thus first become a mandatory feature in ipv6


probably you are confusing this with source routing.

-=[VP]+arni+=- wrote:
Nice that it gets routed, but i still doubt that routers will care


actually ciscos care by default, you have to manually disable it. linux uses iptos by default also, to prioritize outgoing packets. i dont even think you can disable it on linux.

Quote:
EDIT2: Can you make a reasonably big datagram size default value then? - because otherwise dumb (oh well less experienced) admins will forget and we have the same problem again


the problem is that not all networks may handle large datagrams properly, this is why it's left at default. it might be possible to make the slave able to request large mtu from the master though, instead of having to require the master to set it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bani wrote:
the problem is that not all networks may handle large datagrams properly, this is why it's left at default. it might be possible to make the slave able to request large mtu from the master though, instead of having to require the master to set it.


correct me if i'm wrong, but from my experiences more networks have problems with too high packet numbers than with higher datagram size.

But allowing the slave to request it would also be good

--> could dropped packets on bursts also be caused by a too low /proc/sys/net/core/rmem_max & /proc/sys/net/core/wmem_max ?


EDIT:

bani wrote:
actually ciscos care by default, you have to manually disable it. linux uses iptos by default also, to prioritize outgoing packets. i dont even think you can disable it on linux.


afaik tos is not part of the linux kernel routing features, so its also not on by default. traffic shaping by iptos or similar is offered by the "tc" package which is not in kernel ...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-=[VP]+arni+=- wrote:
bani wrote:
the problem is that not all networks may handle large datagrams properly, this is why it's left at default. it might be possible to make the slave able to request large mtu from the master though, instead of having to require the master to set it.


correct me if i'm wrong, but from my experiences more networks have problems with too high packet numbers than with higher datagram size.

But allowing the slave to request it would also be good

--> could dropped packets on bursts also be caused by a too low /proc/sys/net/core/rmem_max & /proc/sys/net/core/wmem_max ?


it's possible, also check netdev_max_backlog, which defines the max # of packets the kernel can route per kernel scheduler tick.

Quote:
bani wrote:
actually ciscos care by default, you have to manually disable it. linux uses iptos by default also, to prioritize outgoing packets. i dont even think you can disable it on linux.


afaik tos is not part of the linux kernel routing features, so its also not on by default. traffic shaping by iptos or similar is offered by the "tc" package which is not in kernel ...


$ man 7 ip
IP(7) Linux Programmerís Manual IP(7)

NAME
ip - Linux IPv4 protocol implementation
[...]
IP_TOS Set or receive the Type-Of-Service (TOS) field that is sent with every IP packet originating from
this socket. It is used to prioritize packets on the network. TOS is a byte. There are some stan-
dard TOS flags defined: IPTOS_LOWDELAY to minimize delays for interactive traffic, IPTOS_THROUGHPUT
to optimize throughput, IPTOS_RELIABILITY to optimize for reliability, IPTOS_MINCOST should be used
for "filler data" where slow transmission doesnít matter. At most one of these TOS values can be
specified. Other bits are invalid and shall be cleared. Linux sends IPTOS_LOWDELAY datagrams first
by default
, but the exact behaviour depends on the configured queueing discipline. Some high pri-
ority levels may require an effective user id of 0 or the CAP_NET_ADMIN capability. The priority
can also be set in a protocol independent way by the (SOL_SOCKET, SO_PRIORITY) socket option (see
socket(7)).

i don't have the code offhand, but last time i read the kernel source, there are three output queues in the kernel by default: IPTOS_LOWDELAY gets put in the highest priority queue, normal traffic is in the default queue, and there is one low priority queue for all other traffic.

edit: found it. in route.c, there are actually 16 output priorities used by the default linux network scheduler...

Code:
__u8 ip_tos2prio[16] = {
        TC_PRIO_BESTEFFORT,
        ECN_OR_COST(FILLER),
        TC_PRIO_BESTEFFORT,
        ECN_OR_COST(BESTEFFORT),
        TC_PRIO_BULK,
        ECN_OR_COST(BULK),
        TC_PRIO_BULK,
        ECN_OR_COST(BULK),
        TC_PRIO_INTERACTIVE,
        ECN_OR_COST(INTERACTIVE),
        TC_PRIO_INTERACTIVE,
        ECN_OR_COST(INTERACTIVE),
        TC_PRIO_INTERACTIVE_BULK,
        ECN_OR_COST(INTERACTIVE_BULK),
        TC_PRIO_INTERACTIVE_BULK,
        ECN_OR_COST(INTERACTIVE_BULK)
};


IPTOS_LOWDELAY translates to TC_PRIO_INTERACTIVE in the standard linux network scheduler -- this is priority 8 which takes precedence over priority 0 (TC_PRIO_BESTEFFORT) which is what non-tos packets get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

something is completely wrong in my view on tos, as it apears to really be implemented in most routers.

strange

really Embarassed

EDIT: From the variables it looks like "TC" became a standard kernel module some time ago - gonna have to check when that happened ...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deej



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 743
Location: Belgium!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bani wrote:
also: ettv_mtu must be set from commandline, it cannot (yet) be changed on the fly.


But ettv_sv_iptos and all the others can, right?
_________________
Our servers now run on 64 bit steroids. Point your ET to:
- Forgotten Ground StopWatch Server with occasional wolfrof 1
- Fraggle Rock ETPub Server - Mix up ET/UT & Duke Nukem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont want to open a new thread for this:

--> Is there a way to autorecord into a subdirectory within demos?

If I do: record subdir/demo0000 it works, but only for the first file, second will be created in the main directory again
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesnt matter, fs_homepath together with symlinks do the job ...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rain



Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 651
Location: Muffin Laboratories

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bani wrote:
linux uses iptos by default also, to prioritize outgoing packets. i dont even think you can disable it on linux.

Just in case anybody cares, you can not only disable it on linux (by changing to another queueing type), but you can change the order ToS prioties are sent in with tc. Unfortunately, the documentation for tc is awful, so you'll probably never want to unless you have a Really Good Reason.
_________________
Rain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group