[etpromapscript] misc_gamemodel question

Discussion for any ET/ETPro/BayonET bugs or cheats you find...

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

Post Reply
nUllSkillZ
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:25 pm

[etpromapscript] misc_gamemodel question

Post by nUllSkillZ »

Hi,

ATM I'm trying to add a "misc_gamemodel" to a map.
It's some kind of energie barrier that sould be passable by players.

I have:

Code: Select all

		create
		{
			classname "misc_gamemodel"
			scriptname "fdbarrierbackmodel"
			targetname "fdbarrierbackmodel"
			model "models/ns/ebarrier/fdbarrierback.ase"
			origin "-9244 -7312 216"
			modelscale "1"
		}
But it's not visible ingame.
Do I miss a key?
Thanx for your help in advance.
Dersaidin
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:55 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Dersaidin »

Try it with the slashes going the other way.

When your mapping models only work when the slashes in the path are going a certain way, but I cant remember which way. So try swapping them for \
User avatar
mortis
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 11:57 pm
Location: at the center of the e-universe
Contact:

Post by mortis »

from duke'ku's post from long ago...known working code. Be sure to check that your path is correct.

Code: Select all

create 
{ 
   scriptname "dinghy1" 
   origin "2650 600 100" 
   classname "misc_gamemodel" 
   modelscale 1 
   contents 1 
   mins "-90 -90 -25" 
   maxs "90 90 25" 
   clipmask 1 
      model "models/mapobjects/dinghy_sd/dinghy.md3"    
} 

User avatar
ReyalP
Posts: 1663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:44 am

Post by ReyalP »

Dersaidin wrote:Try it with the slashes going the other way.

When your mapping models only work when the slashes in the path are going a certain way, but I cant remember which way. So try swapping them for \
forward slashes / should be used.
send lawyers, guns and money
nUllSkillZ
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:25 pm

Post by nUllSkillZ »

Hmm, strange.
Tried the dinghy and it worked.

Seems to be a problem with the ASE models.
Although I can work with them in GTKRadiant.

[edit]
Seems that ASE can't be used as "misc_gamemodels".
I used npherno's md3 compiler to export to md3.
It's rotated and texture is missing.
But it's ingame now.
[/edit]
The Necromancer
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 7:12 am
Contact:

Post by The Necromancer »

some entities can use inline brush models
you can see in bsp file what entities has which numbers
eg teamdoor in fueldump uses *44
this will probably work only with entities that require a brush
Hi! I'm a .signature *virus*! Copy me into your ~/.signature to help me spread!
nUllSkillZ
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:25 pm

Post by nUllSkillZ »

Thnx for all the suggestions and help.

I've managed to convert the ASE to MD3 with npherno's MD3 compiler.
Problem is solved (see http://bani.anime.net/banimod/forums/vi ... php?t=6677 )
User avatar
ReyalP
Posts: 1663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:44 am

Post by ReyalP »

nUllSkillZ wrote: [edit]
Seems that ASE can't be used as "misc_gamemodels".
[/edit]
This is correct. I completely missed that you were trying to use an ASE in the first post :oops:

q3map2 understands ASE, et does not.
send lawyers, guns and money
whoosaaa
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:21 am
Contact:

Post by whoosaaa »

hi
tryed that with the dinghy model..worked.
but now my question is can i add weapontexture clips to a existing map.
and if so what is the code..or just give me a hint.

greets WhooSaaa
User avatar
ReyalP
Posts: 1663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 11:44 am

Post by ReyalP »

whoosaaa wrote:hi
tryed that with the dinghy model..worked.
but now my question is can i add weapontexture clips to a existing map.
and if so what is the code..or just give me a hint.

greets WhooSaaa
You can use func_fakebrush entities http://wolfwiki.anime.net/index.php/Map ... ush_entity
send lawyers, guns and money
Post Reply