banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index banimod / etpro / ettv forums
Bani's Discussion Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

=AFA=Bani Obj & Goldrush
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> Banimod Servers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
=SWAT=Kenny



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 943

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
WOW.
I have a FULL FIBER T-1 line.
This is a dedicated T-1 line running these servers.
There is nothing else using the T-1 line the when the servers are running.

fiber or copper doesnt matter since it only gets a 1.5mbs. fiber has yet to be maxed out. i can deliver a 1gb on copper for cheaper.

Quote:

There is a HUGE difference between DSL and T-1 lines.
T-1 lines are made for business use and DSL is basically just a copper phone line.

not necessarily. ask =swat=ohayden all about this. dsl can provide up to 6mbs down steam and you can buy a 1.5mb pipe up. it would in effect be cheaper then a T1.

Quote:

I have had no complaints from any broadband users regarding lag.
Our T-1 is only a few hops away from a large OC48 trunk.

i would hope it is.

Quote:

You will see a very nice ping and you will have no lag.
ping and lag do not necessarily go hand in hand. i can have huge lag with a sub 50ms ping. my ping is 100ms to that server you set up. and it takes 29 hops to get there.
_________________
tihs hsidlihc fo eceip a is yefink

If alexjones8194 had a penis it would be called "useless." Reason being is all it would be good for is him stepping on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
I-M nUbee



Joined: 23 Dec 2002
Posts: 395
Location: Portland, Oregon

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
WOW.
This is funny.

I-M nUbee who is your host?
I highly doubt any server host can afford an OC48 Line.
They are hundreds of thousands of dollars a month.
If the provider really has an OC48 then you are sharing it with a whole bunch of other servers.
OC48's have 2.45Gbps transfer rate.

http://www.bshx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kenny what do you do for a living?
Is it anything related to Information Technology?

Yes it does matter if it is copper or fiber.
I have had countless speed/connection issues with T-1 connections when they are copper. Fiber is a much more stable technology.

Do large corporations use DSL lines for their Internet connections?

If it takes you 29 hops to get to the server you must live on the West Coast. Pretty good ping for that far away.
Most other west coasters that have broadband connect in the 70's.

Why does this always have to turn into a battle?
All Fear did was advertise about our servers.
Why does everyone have to start jumping all over the number of players they can host?
Who freakin cares!!
All I want to do is play the damn game and have fun.
See ya.

Flat-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I-M nUbee

Here is what is on their website:
Our servers are always up to date, installing any new patches that are released to ensure the best possible gaming experience. Our servers are are located in Houston, Texas. They are connected to the internet via one - 2 Gigabit pipe, three - 1 Gigabit pipes, one - OC3, and one - DS3 for a total bandwidth of 5.2 Gigabits per second!

How many player server are you guys paying for?

Flat-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
Do large corporations use DSL lines for their Internet connections?

i think they use t3... a couple of the major corps here in Muscatine use T3's atleast... the moderate companies use T1... i know at my college their t1 (1.5Mbps) sux
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
duke'ku



Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 1317
Location: portland, oregon

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many businesses use high class DSL... VDSL? i can't remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gotenks,
100% right. Good Answer!

College lines usually suck. Remember you are sharing that T-1 with a lot of other students. Downloading MP3's kills a T-1 real quick!!

Flat-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

college doesn't have student computers... only 20-30 lab computers
but it's piecemeileed so i don't know how good the network setup is...
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No dorms?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
I-M nUbee



Joined: 23 Dec 2002
Posts: 395
Location: Portland, Oregon

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
I-M nUbee

Here is what is on their website:
Our servers are always up to date, installing any new patches that are released to ensure the best possible gaming experience. Our servers are are located in Houston, Texas. They are connected to the internet via one - 2 Gigabit pipe, three - 1 Gigabit pipes, one - OC3, and one - DS3 for a total bandwidth of 5.2 Gigabits per second!

How many player server are you guys paying for?

Flat-4

I bought the Unlimited Package, you can take a look see of what i got here: http://www.bshx.com/package.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
No dorms?
it's a community college... i think they have a few people that are on campus but no more than 20
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ohayden



Joined: 04 Nov 2002
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I have to say is 1.544 is 1.544 no matter how you look at it. Doesn't matter if it's coming from copper or fiber.

As far as what large business are using... that depends on what you consider large. We are the largest business in our industry and we have an ASDL and a SDSL line. The ADSL gives us 6 down and 384 up and is used for general Internet connection. The SDSL gives up 1.1 up and down and is used for our servers (web, ftp, ts, ect.). The SDSL is very comparable to a T1, especially considering I can get TWO SDSL lines for the cost of one T1, which would give me 2.2 as opposed to 1.544.

Just because you had a bad experience with copper doesn't mean fiber is better. We deal with quite a few customers that have T1s and I played with both copper and fiber. To be honest, 1.544 = 1.544.
_________________
Ohayden
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. And you can only get 28 people?
Looks like a good host though.

Flat-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Flat-4



Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Buffalo

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

6 down is great no matter what kind of connection it is.
But for hosting web servers and the like 384 does not cut it.

DSL is way less expensive than T-1 but when you need 24/7 reliablity you need to go T.

We could all argue these points forever, but we don't want to turn this into an IT forum.
It was a fun conversation though!

Thanks.

Flat-4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ohayden



Joined: 04 Nov 2002
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flat-4 wrote:
DSL is way less expensive than T-1 but when you need 24/7 reliablity you need to go T.


Bullshit! My SDSL line is guaranteed the same as the T1 that was offered by my provider. That was one of my first questions before going SDSL. SDSL / T1 doesn't mean anything when your talking about reliability. Provider does!
_________________
Ohayden
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> Banimod Servers All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group