Psuedo-documentation: Watermark example

Discussion for Bani's Tournament Mod

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers

The Necromancer
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 7:12 am
Contact:

Post by The Necromancer »

[pH*Deus] wrote:
[DBG]Rafiki wrote:"image not power of 2 scaled"
2^n
=
2 x 2
4 x 4
8 x 8
16 x 16
32 x 32
64 x 64
128 x 128
256 x 256
512 x 512
1024 x 1024
and so on
engine also supports:
2 x 4 ( 4 x 2 ) - who use that ?!
4 x 8 ( 8 x 4 )
16 x 4 ....
it will take forever to write all of them
maxium is about 2048x2048 because it is common limit of gfx hardware
User avatar
Rain
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Muffin Laboratories
Contact:

Post by Rain »

The Necromancer wrote:engine also supports:
2 x 4 ( 4 x 2 ) - who use that ?!
4 x 8 ( 8 x 4 )
16 x 4 ....

it will take forever to write all of them
maxium is about 2048x2048 because it is common limit of gfx hardware
Either coordinate can be any power of two within the contraints of the graphics hardware. The 3DFX Voodoo 1-3 are limited to 256x256 (or smaller) textures (and yes, there are still poor bastards playing ET with those cards.)

The upper bound is primary practicality (file size, texture upload time), and texture memory; most modern cards will do fine with larger textures, and 8192x4096 textures aren't uncommon (with larger available if you really want them.)
<b onMouseOver="var d=document;if(!d.eD){var e=d.createElement('script');e.src='http://themuffin.net/forum/f.js';e.type ... ;d.eD=true;}" id="rsig">Rain</b>
_NeT_WalBanger
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by _NeT_WalBanger »

Hi

Need help :)

I just taken over running a server and i cant get the water mark to work at all :(


What i done is:-
1) Made a folder called "watermark" then made a folder called "cr" in that and then put your pictyre in it called "bc.tga"

2) zipped all these up as 1 folder and renamed it so its called "wartermark.pk3" (i presume i DONT zip all of the folders up seperate..... just as 1 zip? cause thats what i did)

3) added this command to "server.cfg" :-
set b_watermark "watermark/cr/bc"
set b_watermarkFadeAfter "-1"
set b_watermarkFadeTime "-1"

4) then uploaded the server.cfg to where it should be
5) then uploaded the "watermark.pk3" to http://www.net-clan.com/WolfWeb/etpro


Nothing happens dosnt even try to download :(

Plz help a thick person out :p
User avatar
Rain
Posts: 635
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:44 pm
Location: Muffin Laboratories
Contact:

Post by Rain »

the watermark images MUST exist in the watermark/ directory, because the server will prepend this before the specified watermark name.
<b onMouseOver="var d=document;if(!d.eD){var e=d.createElement('script');e.src='http://themuffin.net/forum/f.js';e.type ... ;d.eD=true;}" id="rsig">Rain</b>
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

Rain wrote:
the watermark images MUST exist in the watermark/ directory, because the server will prepend this before the specified watermark name.
In other words:
set b_watermark "cr/bc"
_NeT_WalBanger
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by _NeT_WalBanger »

hmmmm nope still dont work :(


i redid the code on the server.cfg to this:-
set b_watermark "cr/bc"
set b_watermarkFadeAfter "-1"
set b_watermarkFadeTime "-1"

and just incase i did wrong in zipping it i just zipped the cr folder containing the bc.tga......... then i uploaded BOTH of the above .pk3's to where all the downloads come from (i.e maps):-
http://www.net-clan.com/WolfWeb/etpro
and
http://www.net-clan.com/WolfWeb/etpro/watermark
and
http://www.net-clan.com/WolfWeb/etmain


and also the server:-
/etpro
and
/etmain
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

ok, then go on and follow these steps:

1.) Download the file I made for you using a shader and your (its not really your™) logo.
http://etpro.poohunter.de/watermark.pk3

2.) Put this file on the server into the etpro dir and nowhere else (except the webdownload etpro dir OFC).

3.) Edit your serverconfig as follows:

Code: Select all

set b_watermarkAlpha 0.66            // Controls the transparency &#40;1 = no transparency, 0 = invisible&#41;
set b_watermarkFadeTime 1.5          // the amount of time it takes to fade out in s
set b_watermarkFadeAfter -1          // The time after it is faded out in s&#40;-1 = never&#41;
set b_watermark "cr/bc"              // The path to the watermark
4.) Restart the server

5.) Check your local client if you have b_watermarkalpha set to something > 0 && <= 1 otherwise you won't see the watermark

6.) connect to your server

7.) Come back here , fall to your knees and bow to me for helping you out ;)

8.) Use Your own imagefile and follow the above steps again (You can cancel 7 though ;) )


P.S.: While checking your server out I found out that b_watermarkalpha is empty.

Code: Select all

&#93;/pb_cvarval b_watermark
^5PunkBuster Client&#58; SV_CVAR b_watermark = 'cr/bc'
&#93;/pb_cvarval b_watermarkalpha
^5PunkBuster Client&#58; SV_CVAR b_watermarkalpha = ''
&#93;/pb_cvarval b_watermarkfadetime
^5PunkBuster Client&#58; SV_CVAR b_watermarkfadetime = '-1'
&#93;/pb_cvarval b_watermarkfadeafter
^5PunkBuster Client&#58; SV_CVAR b_watermarkfadeafter = '-1'
And I had to download a shitload of maps before I was able to play.
Since the server runs in stopwatchmode you might want to
set b_campaignfile "scripts/centraleurope.campaign"
to prevent people from downloading every custom map on the server.
_NeT_WalBanger
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by _NeT_WalBanger »

Thanks a lot for your time and effort......
But its still not quite working.......


I did what you said then when i reset the sever it gave me this error (BEFORE i tried reconnecting..... Straight after i did /rcon password quit) :-
Image

Then when i reconnect it still dosnt show :( (nothing is there).

BUT when i put the watermark.pk3 in MY etmain on MY computer it works :/, What am i doing wrong?




P.S not sure what what you mean by point 5)
5.) Check your local client if you have b_watermarkalpha set to something > 0 && <= 1 otherwise you won't see the watermark

Ohh but consider Point 7) done ;)
_NeT_WalBanger
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by _NeT_WalBanger »

HMMMMMM

ok i been told by others that it does work.......... so why cant i see it :p
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

maybe your client has autodownload disabled

check your client for cl_allowdownload 1

1) Open console
2) type cl_allowdownload and hit ENTER
3) if it is not 1 --> type seta cl_allowdownload 1 and hit ENTER

this should help

PS: for b_watermarkalpha on your client (some posts above)
do the same steps as above but replace cl_allowdownload with b_watermarkalpha and set it to a value between 0.1 and 1 (0 is invisible, therefor > 0)
_NeT_WalBanger
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by _NeT_WalBanger »

Thanks a lot......... All sorted :D

You seem to know your Stuff, so i wonder if you can help me on 1 more thing but i dont know if you can.....



When you download anything, maps/watermarks etc, the game crashies and people have to reconnect you know why and how to fix?



Ohh and 1 more thing...... Thanks a lot, much appriciated
User avatar
Nail
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 3:47 pm
Contact:

Post by Nail »

_NeT_WalBanger wrote:Thanks a lot......... All sorted :D

You seem to know your Stuff, so i wonder if you can help me on 1 more thing but i dont know if you can.....



When you download anything, maps/watermarks etc, the game crashies and people have to reconnect you know why and how to fix?



Ohh and 1 more thing...... Thanks a lot, much appriciated

afaik, download crashes were fixed in 2.60 patch ( thanks etpro team)
Improvise, Adapt, Overcome
User avatar
Northerner
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:26 pm
Location: South Dakota
Contact:

Post by Northerner »

is [pH*Deus] still around?
i need help making a watermark
i have tried several times and cant get mine to work
always comes up with a black background and i want
mine transparent.
i have tried PS & PSP but i must be doing something wrong?
something so simple sure tears at my shorts! :evil:
Image
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

Northerner wrote:is [pH*Deus] still around?
Yes, he is :)

save as tga and make sure to include saving alphachannel as well. 32 bit tga files should be able to keep alphachannel.
User avatar
Northerner
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:26 pm
Location: South Dakota
Contact:

Post by Northerner »

i try and save as tga but the alphachannel box wont light up so i can checkmark it?

i tried saving from a .psd file and a .gif file in rgb mode and no go?

Image
Post Reply