cvar restrictions

ET Pro Documentation Project

Moderators: Forum moderators, developers, ET Pro Documentation

User avatar
=FF=im2good4u
Posts: 3821
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 7:30 am
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND
Contact:

Post by =FF=im2good4u »

oh :oops:
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

command "sv_cvar r_intensity IN 1 1.5"

i dont think it's even possible for settings outside 1-1.5 to work.
can someone verify this?
User avatar
gwg.Redef
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 4:10 am
Contact:

Post by gwg.Redef »

I will give it a try.

I think you can set the variable outside 1-1.5
Dunno if the engine accepts it though.
#rtcw.no:ET and #rtcw.no @ Qnet
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

thats my point. if it already doesnt work, theres no point in limiting it 8)

might want to check the other range limits too. since each limit check takes server and client resources, no need to waste them if not needed.
User avatar
gwg.Redef
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 4:10 am
Contact:

Post by gwg.Redef »

Ok I will def do some testing today and clear this up once and for all 8)
#rtcw.no:ET and #rtcw.no @ Qnet
User avatar
gwg.Redef
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 4:10 am
Contact:

Post by gwg.Redef »

Seems like the ET engine doesnt recognize values outside 0-3 for r_gamma, r_picmip, r_mapoverbrightbits and r_overbrightbits, and doesnt recongnize value outside 1-1.5 for r_intensity.

Time for some editing again.. 8)
#rtcw.no:ET and #rtcw.no @ Qnet
User avatar
KingJackaL
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:47 pm
Location: ChCh, NZ
Contact:

Post by KingJackaL »

sv_pb_cvar does it in PB
sv_cvar does it in ET Pro

sv_cvar is better, because it won't kick you if you've got the wrong setting - it'll snap it within range. For example, if you have:

sv_cvar r_picmip in 0 2

...and somebody joins with

r_picmip 5

...it'll autosnap their picmip value to 2. So they can play on without disruption, but you get to control the potential exploits and make a fair playing field.

HOWEVER, there is that one cvar that you sadly can't do with an sv_cvar - the one with 'includes nv'. Sadly, that's just cos you can't 'snap' a variable like that :|.

Hope that explains it ( and I didn't bollocks it up too much :roll: )
Fenris
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:54 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Fenris »

KingJackaL wrote:sv_pb_cvar does it in PB
sv_cvar does it in ET Pro

sv_cvar is better...
Thanks, that explains it perfect, sounds excellent and much better than having to rely on users having set the right option (at least I've been kicked from numerous warmups due to the ATI settings jumping out on me :D)

Then I have just one question on this, if you set the value using sv_cvar and not pb_sv_cvar, then you can't see it using the pb_sv_cvarlist, or can you ? (Didn't seem to work for me), and if you can't, how do you verify what settings are used even if they are enforced ?
User avatar
KingJackaL
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:47 pm
Location: ChCh, NZ
Contact:

Post by KingJackaL »

Fenris wrote:
KingJackaL wrote:sv_pb_cvar does it in PB
sv_cvar does it in ET Pro

sv_cvar is better...
Thanks, that explains it perfect, sounds excellent and much better than having to rely on users having set the right option (at least I've been kicked from numerous warmups due to the ATI settings jumping out on me :D)

Then I have just one question on this, if you set the value using sv_cvar and not pb_sv_cvar, then you can't see it using the pb_sv_cvarlist, or can you ? (Didn't seem to work for me), and if you can't, how do you verify what settings are used even if they are enforced ?
<GUESSMODE>

All the ET Pro cvar's/commands like that are the same as the PB ones, but without the 'pb_'. Maybe try 'sv_cvarlist'?
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

we now have an alternative to the pb_sv_cvar r_nv_fogdist_mode INCLUDE NV issue.

sv_cvar <cvarname> INCLUDE <substring> <default>
sv_cvar <cvarname> EXCLUDE <substring> <default>

example:
sv_cvar r_nv_fogdist_mode INCLUDE NV GL_EYE_RADIAL_NV

this requires clients to have "NV" as a substring somewhere in their r_nv_fogdist_mode cvar. if it's missing, the server forces them to the default of GL_EYE_RADIAL_NV.

the EXCLUDE mode works the opposite. the player's cvar must not contain the substring, or the server will force the defined default.

this should eliminate the need for pb cvar enforcement for most admins, i think...
NiteSwine
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 8:48 pm

Post by NiteSwine »

Then I have just one question on this, if you set the value using sv_cvar and not pb_sv_cvar, then you can't see it using the pb_sv_cvarlist, or can you ? (Didn't seem to work for me), and if you can't, how do you verify what settings are used even if they are enforced ?
The command is /b_cvarlist - it prints the required settings or allowable ranges to the console.
User avatar
IdNotFound
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 8:21 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Post by IdNotFound »

I was pretty sure there was something like a INCLUDE BIT, but I can't seem to find it now, so I'm probably mistaken.

Is/Will there be a "sv_cvar cg_autoaction INCLUDEBIT 1" or something like that which forces the client to have the bit 1 in a bitmask cvar ?
Image nZ/IdNotFound
NaZGûL TeaM Leader
SAWL Tech Staff
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

sv_cvar WITHBITS cvarname value
sv_cvar WITHOUTBITS cvarname value
User avatar
Deus
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:24 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Deus »

For a 7 I have to do

Code: Select all

sv_cvar WITHBITS cg_autoaction 1 
sv_cvar WITHBITS cg_autoaction 2
sv_cvar WITHBITS cg_autoaction 4
sv_cvar WITHOUTBITS cg_autoaction 8
:?:
User avatar
bani
Site Admin
Posts: 2780
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 3:58 am
Contact:

Post by bani »

sv_cvar WITHBITS cg_autoaction 7
sv_cvar WITHOUTBITS cg_autoaction 8
Post Reply