banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index banimod / etpro / ettv forums
Bani's Discussion Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Starting a Banimod server
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> Banimod Server Admins
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:42 pm    Post subject: Starting a Banimod server Reply with quote

I went to ET for about a year and am back to banimod rtcw. I don't remember how I did it but I found a place on the net on how to start a banimod server step by step and cant find it anymore. Could someone post a step by step procedure on setting one up, please? I'm sure it's somewhere but I cant find it. Unless one of you have a write up of your own, that would be fine. I would much appreciate it thanks.


Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. unzip the banimod files to your rtcw directory... the resulting bani (or banimod) folder should be at the same level as Main
2. add the extra sound paks and mine paks to your bani folder
3. change your startup adding +set fs_game bani (or banimod, depending on the name of the folder)
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much for the quick reply old friend. I finished the first two but I'm sorry to say that I am stuck on the third point. I believe that you mean to add it to the properties of the executable? Is that right? If it is--it still doesn't work. When I do that it only opens up a session of rtcw when I double click the exe file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw, I also created a file called server.cfg and I put the bwl configs in there. How do I point to that cfg file for my settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i believe it's the "target" or "path" of the shortcut... there should be something like this:
"c:\program files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\wolfmp.exe"
make it this:
"c:\program files\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\wolfmp.exe" +set fs_game banimod

make sure to include a space between the quotes and the plus
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sadly, it still doesn't work. My command line is as follows:

"C:\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\Server\WolfMP.exe" +set fs_game banimod

It starts a regular session of rtcw game, not a server console. I know that in et I had to set a cvar to 2 (internet), in order to make a server, I cant remember if there was one for rtcw but I think that would fix my problem.


Somehow it is just starting up a game session, not a server. Is there something I might be missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

+set dedicated 2

include a space, set that after the fs_game setting
also may want to include a +exec server.cfg after the dedicated setting
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My command line now looks like the following:

"C:\Return to Castle Wolfenstein\Server\WolfMP.exe" +set fs_game banimod +set dedicated 2 +exec server.cfg
I get the grey console as I should be getting but when I try to connect to my ip it doesnt show up. My ip is **.**.***.***:27960
I checked in ase and in normal rtcw monitor and it is not listed. The console seems to show that Im set up correctly but yet I still dont see the server. Any idea mate?




Last edited by tdg_sparky on Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
=FF=im2good4u



Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 3924
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

few idea's

try the command status and see wut i says

did u load a map ? (map mp_beach)

do u look under lan server if its hosted of the sam pc

maybe try the ip /connect localhost:27960 or 192.168.1.100
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if he didn't load a map, it'd quit...
my guess is he's behind a router and doesn't have his net_ip set or maybe port forwarding...
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right I recently purchased a router and dont know much about routers. I connected to that external ip and Im in. The game mod is still set on main, it is currently running mp_beach.

Is there anywhere else that I could add the fs game banimod command? Is there any other thought on why I still cant go from main to banimod? thank you.


Last edited by tdg_sparky on Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
=FF=im2good4u



Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 3924
Location: The Netherlands, HOLLAND

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gotenks wrote:
if he didn't load a map, it'd quit...
no watchdog was introduced in ET and it isnt in rtcw yet

there is only 1 way to add the fs_game as decrived above
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes Im2weak4u, i have it working, but it is still main not banimod. Do you have any idea of what I might be doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
gotenks



Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 4040
Location: out of my mind

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is your server's ip, i'll see if there's anything i can say/recomend
_________________
My Website

After a night of binge drinking:
=FF=im2good4u wrote:
WTF wanst i on top ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tdg_sparky



Joined: 20 Aug 2004
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi gotenks sorry for the late reply,
The Ip to the server is 192.168.1.100
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> Banimod Server Admins All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group