banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index banimod / etpro / ettv forums
Bani's Discussion Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ETTV Public beta 8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sword



Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

question on ettv chatpassword(s)
does this effect the specs on a match server as well?
or only made to effect viewers on a slave?

also anyone else have higher pings on their servers with this new version?
im checking my pings between b6 adn b8 and b8 pings nearly 30 ms more than the b6 version did


Last edited by Sword on Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

slaves cannot affect anyone on a matchserver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
hallibarbie



Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a question too.

Why are all dynamic entities hidden when using ETTV beta 8 either as master or slave? For example: We set up one master server and one slave with the map baserace (I think most of you know it Wink ). Players connecting the master will not see any doors nor are they able to plant mines or dynamites. Even holding the grenade in your hand and waiting the 4 ticks before they explode will not harm you nor even they will be thrown. It seems to us that any dynamic entity will not be handled! Shocked

Any ideas?
_________________
[GMC]Clan
Only fairy tales have happy ends!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zinx



Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 268
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a bug.. Are players are still being shown? Also, are there any delays? Are you playing back from a demo?

EDIT: Uhm, I didn't read that right... The master code shouldn't have changed at all, I'll look at it..

EDIT: WorksForMe, maybe your qagame is busted.

EDIT: Seems strange stuff happens when ettv_delay is set on the master -- Don't set ettv_delay on the master, it's not meant for the master. I'll put in a check to keep people from setting that on the master :/
_________________
Zinx Verituse http://zinx.xmms.org/


Last edited by zinx on Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hallibarbie



Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe. We have used etpro 3.2.2 rc3!

BUt now with ettv beta 6 and its modified qagame.*.so file it is working correctly.
_________________
[GMC]Clan
Only fairy tales have happy ends!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zinx



Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 268
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've made it ignore ettv_delay on the master, in case it's accidentally set, and fixed a framedrop bug that happened queuing a non-demo from a master.

http://zinx.xmms.org/misc/tmp/ettv.x86-20051103.gz
_________________
Zinx Verituse http://zinx.xmms.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: "bugged" demos kill replayer Reply with quote

I have some recorded demos that kill the replayer each time they end ...

------------- CUT HERE --------------
Version: etpro 3.2.0
Platform: Linux
Signal: Segmentation violation (11)
Signal code: 1
fault address: 0x14d0
Load addresses:
0x40020000 /lib/tls/libm.so.6
0x40043000 /lib/libdl.so.2
0x40048000 /lib/tls/libc.so.6
0x40000000 /lib/ld-linux.so.2
0x4adfe000 /lib/libnss_compat.so.2
0x4ae06000 /lib/libnsl.so.1
0x4ae1c000 /lib/libnss_nis.so.2
0x4ae26000 /lib/libnss_files.so.2
0x4ae30000 play/pb/pbsv.so
0x51195000 /lib/libnss_dns.so.2
0x5119b000 /lib/libresolv.so.2
0x4eccc000 /home/ettv/et/etpro/tvgame.mp.i386.so
0x4ed06000 /home/ettv/et/etpro/tvgame.mp.i386.so
EIP: 4ecf336e
edi:00000000 esi:000014d0 ebp:00000710 esp:bfff3310
eax:00000710 ebx:4ed0651c ecx:000001c4 edx:00000000
stack:
4ed02050 00000000 00000000 4ed0651c 00000001 0805b7dc 00000000 4ecf0f63
00000000 08d83e4c 080af4b9 00000000 08da4200 bfff43f8 fffffffe 0808bf9c
00000001 00000000 0805b7dc 080af024 080c0820 00000469 080766b7 080b1cb4
00000000 00000002 080768e8 080c8f44 08d81c20 00000000 08aad364 08059a88
code:
f3 a5 8b bb 24 ff ff ff ff 44 24 08 81 44 24 04 c8 5b 00 00 8b 54 24 08 3b 57
0c 7c 95 83 c4 0c 5b 5e 5f 5d c3 8d 8b 4c bb ff ff 8d ab b0 ec ff ff 89 0c 24
Stack trace:
1 entries
/home/ettv/et/etpro/tvgame.mp.i386.so[0x4ece7522]
------------- CUT HERE --------------
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

post or pm link to the demos kthxbye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://dl.vpclan.de/demo0001.tv_84 Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jura



Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I’ve tested the beta8 few days ago. Then I’ve discovered some strange functionality.
The only change that was made was replacing the ettv.exe from beta7 to beta8 on both servers (master and slave) and the dll on slave.
After this the ping from slave to master raises from 0-5ms to approximately 30-40ms.
Also players ping on game (master) server raises from 30-40ms to 100-120ms.
I don’t know why. Then I’ve “downgrade” it back to beta7.
Any idea?

Btw: I cannot change the ettv_mtu from command line (ettv.exe +ettv_mtu 16000). When the server starts it says that it is read only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeblionX



Joined: 08 Sep 2002
Posts: 1163
Location: Tseaby

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd want to replace both the executable and the DLL on both servers.
_________________
Weblion "Th' Politically Inco'reck Tiger" X
If a VCR uses the 24-hour time format, does it still blink 12:00 after a power outage?
Pushing electrons since 1990
120VAC -> Ground == Bad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zinx



Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 268
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beta8 calculates ping slightly different, it's possible the calculation is wrong, but it's likely more correct; It's *not* likely at all that players are actually getting higher ping, as the master code is mostly unchanged.
_________________
Zinx Verituse http://zinx.xmms.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sword



Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try +set ettv_mtu 16000

zinx wrote:
beta8 calculates ping slightly different, it's possible the calculation is wrong, but it's likely more correct; It's *not* likely at all that players are actually getting higher ping, as the master code is mostly unchanged.



hmm alright tho it does seem lagger to me when ive tested it with a broadcast for a match game
both teams seemed to ping pretty badly when i was using the beta8 version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deej



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 743
Location: Belgium!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sword wrote:
try +set ettv_mtu 16000
version


IIRC you need to set ettv_netblast to 0 too then.
_________________
Our servers now run on 64 bit steroids. Point your ET to:
- Forgotten Ground StopWatch Server with occasional wolfrof 1
- Fraggle Rock ETPub Server - Mix up ET/UT & Duke Nukem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, it's best to leave it 1 unless you have very good reason to change it to 0 (should be almost never)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group