banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index banimod / etpro / ettv forums
Bani's Discussion Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ETTV Public beta 13
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bani
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:42 am    Post subject: ETTV Public beta 13 Reply with quote

ETTV is now available for public beta testing.

Download it here.

Documentation is here.

Bugfixes

  • fix 100% cpu usage bug
  • fix slave bandwidth hogging bug
  • fix random crash bug on map changes
  • fix corruption on demo recording
  • fix network corruption bug
  • more ping calculation fixes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you forgot to publicly release b12 ^^

--> good job if there are no new issues from b12-pre8
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deej



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 743
Location: Belgium!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hubbing here we come Wink.

+set ettv_mtu 32000 Twisted Evil
_________________
Our servers now run on 64 bit steroids. Point your ET to:
- Forgotten Ground StopWatch Server with occasional wolfrof 1
- Fraggle Rock ETPub Server - Mix up ET/UT & Duke Nukem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, hubbing finally works, but specs still have a 0 ping ^^
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nedd3h



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've been asked to mention something on this forum

apparently some people are having issues with this latest windows ettv version
i've been using ettv since beta 9 and it's been the best so far (for me)

when i first set up beta 13 is didn't run well
i used high mtu values and messed with the iptos settings and it just lagged out everyone (999)

so i ran default to go from there, didn't need to alter anything after that
runs perfect now, i use it as a master and to replay demos
soon to be run as an occassional slave too


ettv_netblast 1
ettv_mtu 1400
ettv_sv_iptos 0
ettv_tv_iptos 0



202.60.72.67:27960

the server can be used for testing if it would help




EDIT:
• no slave can connect to my server if ettv_mtu is anything other than 1400
• setting ettv_sv_iptos to 16 has reduced master server lag spikes

current settings are:
ettv_netblast 1
ettv_mtu 1400
ettv_sv_iptos 16
ettv_tv_iptos 16


Last edited by nedd3h on Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats good but an mtu of only 1400 bytes will bring the problem with "euro b0rkrouters" (=european routers that send smaller packets before large ones) back. (results in packet disordering and lags)

so i think even if that gets ettv masters to run on windows its not a solution.

gg windows networking Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReyalP



Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 1663

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

or GG windows testers. This bug has been there since b10, and the first we heard of it was a couple days ago

I admit, I'm as guilty as the rest, having switched my test setup to 2.60b etded and not switched it back Embarassed

Please, if a beta version does something like this, mention it Mad
_________________
send lawyers, guns and money
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nedd3h



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what bug?
(so i know what to look for in future releases... i know zero about isp networking stuff)

all i know is that ppl get no lag with this current setup. you say there has been a problem since beta 9, well, some clinets had lag issues with beta 9 and it came good when i went to beta 11 Question

i'll do what i can to help with windows testing but will need coaching on what to do... just ask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ReyalP



Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 1663

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nedd3h wrote:
what bug?
(so i know what to look for in future releases... i know zero about isp networking stuff)

The bug where players windows ETTV server are constantly 999. I assumed this is what you were talking about.

FWIW, I get that problem with netblast 1 mtu 1400 and both tos set to 0. Those are all default values.
_________________
send lawyers, guns and money
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jump3r



Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm windows server admin and i've already tested b11 and b13 (both with default settings only). since ettv b11 it works perfect, without any problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jump3r



Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jump3r wrote:
i'm windows server admin and i've already tested b11 and b13 (both with default settings only). since ettv b11 it works perfect, without any problem.

hi men,
i'd like to excuse for my previous post, seems like i was mistaken.
just found two problems, the first one is that what you're talking about.
if i use ettv b13 for masterserver, every player who connects gets 999 instantly. i tried another ips, ports, pk3s, ... but nothing helped... ( only ettv beta4 x[ )

the second one is very strange. i recorded ettv demo(s) by beta 13, but i can't replay it! it spams messages like "Delta from invalid frame (not supposed to happen!)." to the server console. what's wrong?! and if i connect to this replay server, i cant see any players. already tried another ettv versions to replay this demo, they do the same problem.
if you dont believe me, try to replay this (31MB, map sp_delivery2):
http://jump3r.enemyterritory.sk/dema/demo0000.tv_84

by the way, thanks for account reactivation and sorry for my low english skills.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dA*Rogue



Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ReyalP wrote:
The bug where players windows ETTV server are constantly 999. I assumed this is what you were talking about.

FWIW, I get that problem with netblast 1 mtu 1400 and both tos set to 0. Those are all default values.

Hey guys,

Firstly - thanks to the dev team for their work on ET Pro & ETTV. Unfortunately GameArena in Australia are using win servers and experience this constant 999'ing, meaning we can't run ETTV in our ladder comp. Is there anything we can do to help you guys (testing etc)?

Thanks again,

~ Rogue
_________________
(02:00:40) (+|FF|Im2good4u) gameserverrcon 69.93.143.210:27960 just@notherp@ssword status
(02:00:52) (+|FF|Im2good4u) oke me needs a new pass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arni



Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i have the same problem on linux since b12 and b13 but since all other servers of the same type worked ok i thought it was a problem that i created myself.

What happens:

The server works perfectly but once in a while is just messes up, all players go 999 and lagometer shows only snap per second (estimate) recieved.
You have to restart the server to fix it.

I now switched to etded coz i dont need ettv on that one anyways.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ReyalP



Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 1663

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I had this happen on my linux server too, after it had been running for quite a few days. Like the windows thing, toggling timescale to 0.1 and back 1 seemed to 'fix' it O_o
_________________
send lawyers, guns and money
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dA*Rogue



Joined: 26 Dec 2003
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, one of the GA ET admins discovered the timescale change 'fix', but we found it did not work 100% of the time unfortunately. It's also difficult to be around to do that to the server for every match, as you can imagine =p
_________________
(02:00:40) (+|FF|Im2good4u) gameserverrcon 69.93.143.210:27960 just@notherp@ssword status
(02:00:52) (+|FF|Im2good4u) oke me needs a new pass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    banimod / etpro / ettv forums Forum Index -> ET Pro News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group